The Abbotsford Cardinals celebrate the BCPBL title win on Sunday.

Abbotsford Cardinals win 2018 BCPBL title

Second championship in three years for baseball team

For the second time in three years, the Abbotsford Senior Cardinals are British Columbia Premier Baseball League champions.

The Cards clinched the win with a 15-3 win over the Langley Blaze in game two of the BCPBL final on Sunday.

Abbotsford got a monster game from Kayden Beauregard, who produced big with a three-run double in the fourth inning to help ramp up the Cardinals offence.

Cardinals players Kayden Cardoso (two), Jayson Smith (two), Shea Wutke, Mike Fitzsimmons, Dylan Ohlsen and Taisei Yahiro also drove in runs, with Cardoso also stealing home in the first inning.

The Cardinals collected 13 hits in the win, and got strong pitching from Carlin Dick, who allowed just three runs on five hits in the complete game win.

Game two was a must win for Abbotsford, as they lost 5-3 in game one earlier in the day on Sunday. A loss or win by another less than three runs would have meant a title win for the Blaze.

The Cards opened the tournament with a 10-1 win over the North Shore Twins on Friday, and then edged the host Okanagan Athletics 6-5 on Saturday.

Abbotsford finished second overall behind the Blaze during the regular season, posting a record of 34-14 compared to Langley’s record of 39-9.

For more on the story, read Wednesday’s print edition of the Abbotsford News.

Just Posted

Date rapist left victims with ‘long-lasting, emotional scars,’ judge says

Klifford Kenyon of Abbotsford sentenced to additional two years in prison

Fire in barn that housed therapy horses has been confirmed an arson

Abbotsford Police Department is now investigating and seeks witnesses

Rescue dogs from California up for adoption in Abbotsford

Embrace a Discarded Animal Society partners with PetSmart this weekend

Busy night for Abbotsford crews fighting multiple bush, car fires

The Abbotsford Fire Rescue Service responded to two bush fires and a double car fire overnight

Local libraries offer interactive digital novel

Inanimate Alice uses virtual reality systems

Social media, digital photography allow millennials to flock to birdwatching

More young people are flocking to birdwatching than ever, aided by social media, digital photography

Are your kids anxious about going back to school?

BC Children’s Hospital offers tips to help your children be mindful and reduce stress

New trial ordered for James Oler in B.C. child bride case

Meanwhile, appeal court dismisses Emily Blackmore’s appeal of guilty verdict

This trash heap in Vancouver could be yours for $3.9 million

Sitting atop 6,000 square feet, the home was built in 1912, later destroyed by fire

Team Canada’s next game postponed at Little League World Series

They’re back in action on Wednesday against Peurto Rico

Ex-Trump lawyer Cohen pleads guilty in hush-money scheme

Said he and Trump arranged payment to porn star Stormy Daniels and a former Playboy model to influence the election

Former Trump aide Paul Manafort found guilty of eight charges

A mistrial has been declared for the other 10 charges against him

Canada’s team chasing elusive gold medal at women’s baseball World Cup

Canada, ranked No. 2 behind Japan, opens play Wednesday against No. 10 Hong Kong

Lower Mainland animals feeling effects of smoky skies

Animal shelters are trying to keep their critters healthy through the smoggy days.

Most Read