Our Team


Publisher
Carly Ferguson
1-604-851-4538
Carly graduated with a degree in Communications from Simon Fraser University and completed her diploma in Executive Management Leadership from Thompson Rivers University. She has worked in the Fraser Valley in the non-profit industry, in marketing for Prospera Credit Union, prior to joining the Black Press Media team in 2007.
Since that time she’s worked in management positions around the Fraser Valley in Maple Ridge, Abbotsford, Mission, Chilliwack, Agassiz and Hope. During her work in Maple Ridge, Carly was recognized as Advertising Director of the Year by the Suburban Newspaper Association (now Local Media Association), an organization representing media organizations in North America.
Carly is currently group publisher of the Fraser Valley region, stretching from Hope to Abbotsford and Mission.
carly.ferguson@blackpress.ca

Editor
Ken Goudswaard
1-604-851-4522
Ken Goudswaard has been a reporter, editor, publisher and newspaper owner during his 30 years in the industry.
ken.goudswaard@blackpress.ca

Circulation Manager
Kevin Hemery
1-604-851-4528
Kevin has over 30 years in managing all aspects of distribution for paid and free circulation newspapers. His current responsibilities have him overseeing publications from Vancouver to Hope. Prior to him becoming a Regional Circulation Manger, he held the position of Circulation Sales & Marketing Manager for the Trinity Holdings Group for the Upper Fraser Valley.
circulation@abbynews.com

Reporter
Vikki Hopes
1-604-851-4530
Vikki Hopes has been a journalist for more than 30 years, and has been at the Abbotsford News since 1991. She covers crime, courts, and other general news and feature stories.
vhopes@abbynews.com

Sports reporter
Ben Lypka
1-604-851-4526
Ben Lypka joined the Abbotsford News in 2015. Ben graduated from Langara College’s journalism program in 2010 and previously spent five years covering sports, arts and community events at the Squamish Chief newspaper.
sports@abbynews.com

Reporter
Tyler Olsen
1-604-851-4529
Tyler Olsen joined the Abbotsford News in 2014. Tyler graduated from Thompson Rivers University in 2006 and has worked at the Vernon Morning Star and the Chilliwack Times.
tolsen@abbynews.com

Most Read