Skip to content

Abbotsford Police Foundation announces new executive board members

Sandy Blue named new president, Marcus Akhtar announced as new vice-president

The Abbotsford Police Foundation have elected their new executive board and announced the additions earlier this month.

At the most recent APF board meeting the following were named to new positions:

  • Sandy Blue – president
  • Marcus Akhtar – vice-president
  • Kinder Sidhu – treasurer

Blue had been serving in the role of vice-president for the past few years and she replaces Kevin Boonstra. Blue finished ninth in the councillor race in October’s Abbotsford municipal election, narrowly missing out on recapturing her seat on city council. Boonstra will remain on the board for another year.

Akhtar joined the board in 2019 and Kinder in 2022. Kinder replaces the outgoing Jon Eaton as treasurer. Other board members include: Jennifer Willford (chair of marketing and events committee), Christina Reid, Erwin Braun (chair of fundraising), Jon Eaton, chief constable Mike Serr and Abbotsford Police Department union president detective Corrie Haines.

“I’m honoured to continue the work that Jack Robertson, Dave Kandal and Spud Murphy envisioned when they founded the APF back in 2005; and I’m so proud of the impact the Foundation has had in the community since then,” Blue stated in a press release. “As a completely volunteer organization there is a lot of ‘behind the scenes’ work that takes place to manage a growing not-for-profit organization like ours.”

APF initiatives this year have included the annual signature fundraiser Crime is Toast – Breakfast with the Chief’ and Trees of Hope at Sevenoaks Shopping Centre. Some of the AbbyPD grants this year – designed to build positive relationships that bring police and community together – include Movie Night in the Park and the AbbyPD City Basketball tournament.

For more on the organization, visit

RELATED: Abbotsford Senior, Yale Secondary win pair of banners at APD city basketball tournament

Ben Lypka

About the Author: Ben Lypka

I joined the Abbotsford News in 2015.
Read more