Skip to content

Rotary presents community members with Paul Harris Fellowship Awards

Award given to seven individuals for their contributions to the community
President of Rotary Club of Abbotsford Angelo Rea

Seven community members received Paul Harris Fellowship Awards from the Rotary Club of Abbotsford in recognition of their exceptional service to our community.

This recognition, named after Paul Harris the founder of Rotary International, is bestowed to both members of the local club and community individuals who have given outstanding service to their organization and community.

In addition to the award, $1,000 is donated to the Rotary Foundation on each individual’s behalf.

The Rotary Foundation allows the organization to improve communities by promoting peace, preventing disease, bolstering economic development and providing clean water and sanitations.

On Nov. 19, awards were presented to Abe Konrad, Gordon Holloway, Martin Silverstein, Sherri Wacker, Bob Johnson, George Ferguson and Kevin MacDonald, each exemplifying the Rotary motto “Service Above Self” in their contribution to the community.

All seven recipients were given the award for having given tirelessly to their professional vocation, lent their leadership skills, experience and business services to charities, organizations, and projects throughout the Fraser Valley.

Rotary Club President Angelo Rea said, “our community is a better place because of these recipients, they lead by example and their commitment continues to enhance the lives of many by giving their time, knowledge and/or monetary support.” You can find more photographs at

About the Author: Black Press Media Staff

Read more