Warriors win first lacrosse banner in 23 years

Warriors win first lacrosse banner in 23 years

Abbotsford Pee Wee B team defeats Semiahmoo in provincial final

For the first time since 1995, an Abbotsford Warriors lacrosse team is taking home a provincial banner.

The Pee Wee B Warriors took home the provincial title with a 12-6 win over Semiahmoo in Coquitlam on Sunday.

The big win caps off a season that saw the club build momentum and grow as a team, finishing fourth overall in the regular season and coming up with several clutch wins to advance to the provincial tournament.

Abbotsford took down Richmond in a single-game knockout and then swept Port Coquitlam 2-0 in a best-of-three series to advance in the regional playdowns earlier this year.

The provincials kicked off on Thursday, and it saw the team suffer its lone loss at the event by falling 9-6 to Nanaimo. Abbotsford fell behind 6-0 after two periods, but managed to close the gap and make it close in the final frame.

The Warriors turned it on after the loss, posting a 15-8 win over Semiahmoo on Friday and a 12-4 win over Shuswap on Saturday to advance to the semifinals on Saturday evening.

Abbotsford defeated the host Coquitlam team 11-2 and then earned the banner with the 12-6 win over Semiahmoo on Sunday.

Abbotsford’s Nicholas Catalano was named the tournament’s most valuable player, and was also named a tournament all-star for his efforts.

Individual game most valuable players for Abbotsford were: Catalano, Ajai Bubra, Tage Pennell, Cole Van Nes and Abigail Janzen.

Ewen DeLisser of the Warriors was also named to the tournament’s fair play team.

The provincial title is added to a trophy case that also includes a silver medal win at the Alan Price Memorial Tournament in Kamloops back in May.

Team representatives praised the dedication of the players for their hard work all season long, and also thanked coaches Ryan Reed, Milo Buckingham, Kerry Cameron and Cam Janzen for their efforts behind the bench.

For more details on the Warriors program, visit abbotsfordlacrosse.com.