Hall of Fame doors swing open for longtime curling officials

International-level curling officials Daryl and Linda Kirton are set to be enshrined in the Abbotsford Sports Hall of Fame.

International-level curling officials Daryl and Linda Kirton are set to be enshrined in the Abbotsford Sports Hall of Fame at an induction banquet on April 28.

The husband-wife duo will be inducted in the coach/builder category. They have officiated countless national and international curling events, including the 2010 Winter Olympics and Paralympics in Vancouver.

Daryl was supervisor of play at both the Olympics and Paralympics. Linda was a statistician at the Olympics, and was the Paralympics deputy chief and gave the official’s oath at the opening ceremonies.

The induction ceremony is April 28 at the Legacy Building. Tickets are $60 each or $450 for a table of eight. They can be purchased at Hub Fire Engines, or by calling 604-859-3124.

Additionally, six teams and nine individuals will be honoured for their exploits in 2011 with a plaque on the Wall of Fame, which will be displayed at the Hall for one year.

Wall of Fame teams include the Hansen Hurricanes boys wrestling, the MEI Eagles senior boys volleyball, the Mouat Hawks senior girls basketball, the Columbia Bible College men’s volleyball, the University of the Fraser Valley men’s golf, and the Abbotsford Outlaws 95 girls softball.

Individual honourees are Jake Virtanen (hockey), Joban Phulka (wrestling), Ben Ball (volleyball), Steve Marshall (volleyball), Jeremy Lieuwen (volleyball), Alexa Tielmann (water polo), Spencer Miller (rugby), Paul Ahn (rugby) and Kayli Sartori (basketball).