Taking nominations – municipal candidates have until Oct. 14 to file

The nomination period for the 2011 municipal elections began Oct. 4 and closes on Oct. 14 at 4 p.m.

  • Oct. 5, 2011 11:00 a.m.

The nomination period for the 2011 municipal elections began Oct. 4 and closes on Oct. 14 at 4 p.m.

Nominations are open for the offices of mayor and eight councillors for the City of Abbotsford, and seven trustees for School District No. 34.

Anyone wishing to run for these offices – a three-year term from December 2011 to December 2014 – must submit their application to the Chief Election Officer at City Hall, Fifth Floor, 32315 South Fraser Way, before 4 p.m. on Oct. 14. Information on the requirements and procedures for making a nomination can be picked up from the chief election officer or deputy chief election officer at city hall.

The election will be held between 8 a.m. and 8 p.m. on Nov. 19.

For those who cannot vote on election day, early voting options are available on Nov. 9 and Nov. 16 (from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.) at either Cascade Community Church (35190 DeLair Rd.) or the Ag-Rec Gallery at Abbotsford Exhibition Park (32470 Haida Dr.)

Who can vote?

In order to vote in the 2011 municipal election you must be:

  • age 18 or older;
  • a Canadian citizen;
  • a resident of B.C. for at least six months immediately before the day of registration;
  • a resident of the local government jurisdiction (Abbotsford) for at least 30 days immediately before the day of registration; and
  • not disqualified by any enactment from voting in an election or otherwise disqualified by law.

You must produce at least two documents that provide evidence of your identity and place of residence – at least one of which must contain your signature. Documentation accepted includes:

  • a B.C. driver’s licence;
  • a  B.C. Identification Card issued by the Motor Vehicle Branch;
  • an owner’s certificate of insurance and vehicle licence;
  • a B.C. CareCard;
  • a social insurance card;
  • citizenship card;
  • property tax notice issued by the City of Abbotsford;
  • credit card or debit card;
  • a utility bill.


Joining the race

Incumbents will play a big role in the coming municipal election in Abbotsford, as Mayor George Peary along with six of the eight councillors have already announced their intentions to seek re-election.

Joining Peary in the quest for another term are Couns. Moe Gill, Dave Loewen, Les Barkman, Patricia Ross, Bill MacGregor and Simon Gibson.

Coun. Lynne Harris has decided not to seek re-election while Coun. John Smith has not made his intentions known.

Gerda Peachey has declared that she will  run for mayor, while Aird Flavelle, Mark Rushton and Jatinder Sidhu have announced their intentions to run for council seats.

Six of the seven board of education incumbents have confirmed they will run again. Only veteran trustee Joanne Field will not seek another term, leaving the field open to John Sutherland, Shirley Wilson, Uultsje DeJong, Korky Neufeld, Preet Rai and Cindy Schafer.

Others who have announced they will run for a spot on the board are Stan Petersen and Freddy Latham.

Just Posted

Abbotsford on shortlist for federal homelessness money

City one of 16 shortlisted for designation as new ‘designated community’

Catholic church buys $7.5M equestrian facility in Abbotsford, plans ‘agri-retreat’ centre

Church hopes to grow crops, host students and others on Bradner property

Come visit the cute little critters at Elizabeth’s Wildlife Center

Abbotsford centre holds annual open house on Aug. 24 and 25

Abbotsford Police ‘speed watchers’ are tops in province

Volunteers record highest increase in patrol hours in ICBC challenge

UPDATE: Abbotsford woman reported missing from Chilliwack has been found

Alexis Neill, 26, located safe and sound, police say

VIDEO: Title of 25th Bond movie is ‘No Time to Die’

The film is set to be released in April 2020

‘Unsubstantiated’ bomb threat against CP Rail in Revelstoke

On Aug. 18, a bomb threat was made against CP Rail in Revelstoke

Victoria father charged with double murder of his daughters takes the stand

Andrew Berry pleaded not guilty to the December 2017 deaths

New ‘Matrix’ film set with Keanu Reeves and Lana Wachowski

Fourth installment to feature Reeves as Neo and Carrie-Anne Moss as Trinity

New regulations require training for B.C. addiction recovery homes

Inspections, standards replace ‘wild west,’ Judy Darcy says

Downtown Langley becomes a Saturday smorgasbord

Nineteen local restaurants participate in annual Fork and Finger sampling event

Trans Mountain gives contractors 30 days to get workers, supplies ready for pipeline

Crown corporation believes the expansion project could be in service by mid-2022

66% of B.C. residents want opt-out system for organ donation: poll

Support was lowest in Ontario and the Atlantic provinces

Most Read