Queen’s Jubilee Medal recipients honoured

Former Abbotsford mayor George Ferguson receives a standing ovation.

Former Abbotsford Mayor George Ferguson raises his cane in recognition of the standing ovation he received on Friday night. Ferguson was one of more than 30 recipients of the Queen’s Jubilee Medal presented by Abbotsford MP Ed Fast (left).

Former Abbotsford Mayor George Ferguson raises his cane in recognition of the standing ovation he received on Friday night. Ferguson was one of more than 30 recipients of the Queen’s Jubilee Medal presented by Abbotsford MP Ed Fast (left).

It was an evening designed to pay tribute to those who have contributed to their community.

On Friday night, Abbotsford MP Ed Fast presented more than 30 local residents with the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal. The medals, which commemorate Queen Elizabeth II’s 60th anniversary on the throne, are presented to Canadian citizens that have provided “significant contributions or achievements” to their communities.

“On this occasion, it gives me great pleasure to honour the achievements of our fellow Abbotsford residents who have dedicated themselves in service to their peers, their community and to their country,” said Fast during the ceremony held at the Matsqui Centennial Auditorium.

“These remarkable people have strengthened our country through their steadfast commitment to public service.”

Fast called the recipients “eminent community leaders” adding they enrich every aspect of the community, including the arts, business, education, and service to the poor and vulnerable.

“In doing so, they re-affirm Abbotsford’s reputation as the most generous community in Canada,” said Fast.

Also on hand for the celebration was Abbotsford South MLA John van Dongen, who joined Fast in presenting four of the medals.

A standing ovation was given to former Abbotsford Mayor George Ferguson as he was presented his medal.

The first mayor of Abbotsford, Ferguson said it was an honour to be recognized.

“I appreciated it very much. It was a good selection of recipients and, of course, there are many others who deserve that recognition too.”

He said all of the people honoured have devoted much of their time to helping others.

“That’s what makes a community. Those type of people who come forward and put themselves in position to try and help and make a better community.”

The list of Queen’s Jubilee Medal recipients on Friday night included:

Gerri Charles, Dorothy Dyck, Rudy Baerg, Mitch Borrows, Capt. Ted Bowman, Deirdre DeGagne, Harry de Jong, Brian Doerksen, Nancy Dyck, Calvin Dyck, George Ferguson, Dalip Singh Gill, Manpreet Grewal, Lynne Harris, Stan Hindmarsh, Dave Holmberg, Dave Kandal, Lorna Keith, Freddy Latham, Dave Murray, Sgt. Mike Novakowski, Geoge Peary, Dr. Darryl Plecas, Andy Sidhu, Les Talvio, Pieter Vanderpol, John Vissers, Milt Walker and Menno Froese.

Joint presentations with van Dongen:

Chief Constable Bob Rich and Christine Wiebe.

In an earlier ceremony, Deb Lowell and John Smith were also presented awards by van Dongen.

Just Posted

Xauni de Figeuiroa of Abbotsford has been selected to attend a virtual space camp hosted by the Canadian Space Agency at the end of July.
Abbotsford student selected to attend virtual space camp

Xauni de Figeuiroa among 52 youth selected from across Canada

Kindergarten kids from Evans elementary school in Chilliwack painted rocks with orange hearts and delivered them to Sto:lo Elders Lodge recently after learning about residential schools. (Laura Bridge photo)
Kindergarten class paints rocks with orange hearts in Chilliwack for local elders

‘Compassion and empathy’ being shown by kids learning about residential schools

Chilliwack potter Cathy Terepocki (left) and Indigenous enhancement teachers Val Tosoff (striped top) and Christine Seymour (fuchsia coat), along with students at Vedder middle school, look at some of the 500-plus pinch pots on Thursday, June 10 made by the kids to honour the 215 children found at Kamloops Indian Residential School. (Jenna Hauck/ Chilliwack Progress)
Chilliwack students make hundreds of tiny clay pots in honour of 215 Indigenous children

‘I think the healing process has begun,’ says teacher about Vedder middle school project

A program of the Fraser Valley Health Care Foundation enables patients to thank their health-care workers.
Fraser Valley program enables patients to say thanks to their health-care workers

Philip Harris Grateful Patient Program offered through health care foundation

Image by Free-Photos from Pixabay
Webinar looks at sexual abuse prevention among adolescents

Vancouver/Fraser Valley CoSA hosts free online session on June 15

Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau participates in a plenary session at the G7 Summit in Carbis Bay, England on Friday June 11, 2021. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Adrian Wyld
Canada donating 13M surplus COVID-19 vaccine doses to poor countries

Trudeau says the government will pay for 87 million shots to be distributed to poor countries

Premier John Horgan speaks as provincial health officer Dr. Bonnie Henry, right, and health minister Adrian Dix look on during a press conference to update on the province’s fall pandemic preparedness plan during a press conference from the press theatre at Legislature in Victoria, Wednesday, Sept. 9, 2020. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Chad Hipolito
B.C. officials to provide details on Step 2 of COVID reopening plan Monday

Step 2 could allow for larger gatherings and a resumption of recreational travel

Indigenous Services Minister Marc Miller is seen during a news conference, Wednesday May 19, 2021 in Ottawa. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Adrian Wyld
Indigenous child-welfare battle heads to court despite calls for Ottawa to drop cases

Feds are poised to argue against two Canadian Human Rights Tribunal rulings

The Great Ogopogo Bathtub Race has been held in Summerland as a fundraising event. Do you know which Canadian city introduced this sport? (Black Press file photo)
QUIZ: A summer’s day at the water

How much do you know about boats, lakes and water?

Two-year-old Ivy McLeod laughs while playing with Lucky the puppy outside their Chilliwack home on Thursday, June 10, 2021. (Jenna Hauck/ Chilliwack Progress)
VIDEO: B.C. family finds ‘perfect’ puppy with limb difference for 2-year-old Ivy

Ivy has special bond with Lucky the puppy who was also born with limb difference

A million-dollar ticket was sold to an individual in Vernon from the Lotto Max draw Friday, June 11, 2021. (Photo courtesy of BCLC)
Lottery ticket worth $1 million sold in Vernon

One lucky individual holds one of 20 tickets worth $1 million from Friday’s Lotto Max draw

Cannabis bought in British Columbia (Ashley Wadhwani/Black Press Media)
Is it time to start thinking about greener ways to package cannabis?

Packaging suppliers are still figuring eco-friendly and affordable packaging options that fit the mandates of Cannabis Regulations

“65 years, I’ve carried the stories in my mind and live it every day,” says Jack Kruger. (Athena Bonneau)
‘Maybe this time they will listen’: Survivor shares stories from B.C. residential school

Jack Kruger, living in Syilx territory, wasn’t surprised by news of 215 children’s remains found on the grounds of the former Kamloops Indian Residential School

Most Read