Gibson appointed to Treasury Board

Joins fellow Abbotsford MLA and Finance Minister Mike de Jong.

  • Jun. 13, 2013 9:00 a.m.

Abbotsford-Mission MLA Simon Gibson has been appointed by BC Premier Christy Clark as a member of the province’s Treasury Board.

“I’m honoured to have been selected to serve on the Treasury Board,” said Gibson. “This is a wonderful opportunity to help shape British Columbia’s fiscal priorities and look forward to working with my colleagues on this important cabinet committee.”

The Treasury Board makes decisions on managing spending, prioritizes budget and the government’s fiscal and capital plan.

“I’m very happy to have a fellow Abbotsford MLA serve with me on Treasury Board. It’s great news for our community,” said Michael de Jong, Abbotsford West MLA and Chair of the board.

“Simon’s decades of experiences on council are going to be a good asset on Treasury Board in helping our government control spending and grow B.C.’s economy.”

Other members include MLAs Terry Lake (Vice-Chair), Rich Coleman, Steve Thomson, Shirley Bond, Stephanie Cadieux, Dan Ashton, Norm Letnick, Greg Kyllo, and Michelle Stilwell.