Election nomination period ends on Friday

City will elect one mayor, eight councillors and seven school trustees

The nomination period for the upcoming municipal election, which takes place Nov. 15, will end on Friday.

Currently, there are two announced candidates for mayor. Mayor Bruce Banman will seek re-election and be challenged by Coun. Henry Braun.

Of the council incumbents, Couns.  Les Barkman, Moe Gill, Bill MacGregor and Patricia Ross told The News they will seek re-election.

Coun. John Smith said he is currently undecided on whether he will seek re-election.

With Braun running for mayor and the election of former councillor Simon Gibson to the legislature, at least two seats on council will see new faces.

Also announced is a slate of candidates, running under the name AbbotsfordFirst, with candidates Ross Siemens, Vince Dimanno, Brenda Falk, Kelly Chahal and Sandy Blue.

Candidates who have announced their intentions to run for council to The News are: Rick Barkwell, Dan Bue, Lyle Caldwell, Ward Draper, Aird Flavelle, Tim Felger, Raymond Kobes, Gerda Peachey, Paul Redekopp, Hank Roos, Tina Stewart, Ken Wuschke and Karen Young.

In the race for school trustee positions, incumbents Cindy Schafer, Shirley Wilson and Preet Rai have told The News they will seek re-election. Also announced to join the run for school trustee is Balbir Gill.

In the election, citizens will elect one mayor, eight councillors and seven school trustees for School District 34. For the first time, elected representatives will hold their positions for four years.

The nomination period ends at 4 p.m. on Friday, Oct. 10.

Forms can be submitted between the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. each day at the city clerk’s office on the fifth floor of Abbotsford City Hall (32315 South Fraser Way).

Nominations cannot be accepted outside of the time period.

The deadline for receiving originals of faxed nomination documents is 4:30 p.m. on Friday, Oct. 17.

For more information on the election and candidates visit abbynews.com/municipalelection.