The riding boundaries presented in the commission's final report.

Abbotsford won’t share MLAs with Chilliwack, Langley

New riding boundaries for 2017 similar to those currently in place

Abbotsford residents won’t share MLAs with Langley or Chilliwack after the next provincial election, as the Electoral Boundaries Commission has decided against splitting up the city.

The Abbotsford-Mission district, currently represented by Liberal MLA Simon Gibson, has been extended on its southeast flank to follow Highway 1, instead of Dawson and McKee roads. Abbotsford West, held by Liberal Michael de Jong, has been redrawn all the way to Sumas Way, instead of stopping on Gladwin Road in the Matsqui Prairie area. Abbotsford South, represented by Liberal Darryl Plecas, has been expanded west to encompass Aldergrove.

The new ridings will be used in the next provincial election, currently scheduled for May 2017. The adjustments are being drawn province-wide to account for population shifts and growth. All three Abbotsford ridings have experienced significant population growth since the boundaries were last redrawn in 2008.

The commission, led by Justice Thomas Melnick, suggested in March that Abbotsford share two ridings with Langley and one with Chilliwack. This proposal, which split up the city along Highway 1 and Sumas Way, was met with negative feedback and abandoned.

“We heard that Abbotsford does not share a strong community of interest with Chilliwack or western Langley,” the commission’s final September report read. “Therefore, we propose Abbotsford districts that are largely within Abbotsford municipal boundaries.”

The Abbotsford Chamber of Commerce supports the decision.

“We are satisfied that the commission has listened to the strong, united voice coming from our community,” said chamber president Josh Bach.

“Based on the final report recommendations, we can continue to enjoy effective representation on local issues.”


Just Posted

GOLD: A brand-new socially conscious piece of theatre

Burlesque-theatre show, part of The Goddess Movement, comes to Abbotsford

Longtime pals release game backed by Kickstarter campaign

Zebulon: Galactic Control created by Abbotsford pair

Cannon tournament raises over $7,500

Annual touch rugby event a success in 2018

City to participate in ‘Smart City’ initiative

Aim is to make Abbotsford more attractive to foreign investment

Agrifair attendance up 25 per cent from 2017, say organizers

New attractions, including RCMP Musical Ride, being credited for hike

Updated: ‘Queen of Soul’ Aretha Franklin has died

Publicist Gwendolyn Quinn reports Franklin passed Thursday at 9:50 a.m. at her home in Detroit

Search for mudslide victim becomes recovery mission

Valerie Morris was swept away by a mudslide on Highway 99 near Cache Creek on August 11.

Behind the fire line: B.C. firefighters stalked by cougars

A Keremeos volunteer firefighter talks about what it was like to patrol the Snowy Mountain fire

Langley teacher who screamed at, grabbed elementary students suspended

This is the second four-month suspension for the Langley teacher.

Woman in custody after topless crane climb near Toronto waterfront

Toronto police have apprehend a woman who climbed crane cab near waterfront

‘Hot and dirty work:’ Commander describes fighting massive Ontario wildfire

Ontario has seen more than 1,000 forest fires so far this year, compared to 561 in all of 2017.

‘Billion-piece jigsaw puzzle:’ Canadians key to 1st complete map of wheat genome

The paper has 202 authors from 73 research agencies in 20 countries.

70 years after Babe Ruth’s death, fans still flock to grave

After Ruth died of throat cancer at age 53, tens of thousands of fans came to pay respects

Airbnb’s federal budget proposal tells Liberals, ‘we want to be regulated’

Submission says ‘we want to be regulated’ and asks the government to avoid forcing existing rules

Most Read