B.C. election 2017 is May 9.

B.C. election 2017 is May 9.

Q&A: Abbotsford candidates list most important issues

Candidates say why they’re running, what they would do, and what you might not know about them

We asked candidates about their personal histories, their past achievements and jobs, and why they were running for election. We also asked them to list the three most important issues for local voters and how they would address them. Finally, we asked each to share a surprising or unique story about him or herself.

Candidates were given strict word limits and instructed not to go over, lest their answers be cut off.

Election Day is May 9.

Voters who want to learn more about local candidates can also attend one or more of several all-candidates meetings being held next week.

Abbotsford is split into three ridings, all of which have changed a little since the last election. Click here for a map of the Abbotsford-Mission riding. Click here for a map of Abbotsford South. Click here for a map of Abbotsford West.

Abbotsford West

Mike de Jong (BC Liberals)

Preet Rai (NDP)

Lynn Simcox (Christian Heritage Party)

Kevin Eastwood (Green Party)

Dave Sharkey (Libertarian Party)

Abbotsford South

Jasleen Arora (NDP)

Ron Gray (Christian Heritage Party)

Darryl Plecas (BC Liberal)

Aird Flavelle (Green Party)


Dan Cameron (Christian Heritage Party)

Simon Gibson (BC Liberals)

Andrew Christie (NDP)

Green Party candidate Jennifer Homes has not submitted her questionnaire.

BC Election 2017Questionnaire