Local pharmacist receives Lifetime Achievement Award

Recipient Ken Foreman’s career spans over three decades

Ken Foreman

Ken Foreman

Ken Foreman, a long-time resident of Abbotsford and the Manager of Pharmacy for Pharmasave (Pacific) Drugs Ltd., is the recipient of the 2014 Lifetime Achievement Award presented by the BC Pharmacy Association (BCPhA).

The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes the ongoing commitment of a BCPhA member to the practice of pharmacy and to the advancement of the association, and is awarded to a pharmacist who has had a recognized impact on the profession.

Since graduating at the top of his class from the University of British Columbia’s Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences in 1976, Foreman has contributed to nearly every facet of pharmacy practice to ensure the profession continues to move forward.

He has served terms as president of both the BCPhA and College of Pharmacists of BC, guest lectured at UBC, and volunteered countless hours on committees with the Ministry of Health, Doctors of BC (BC Medical Association), and Chain Drug Association of BC.

Foreman’s career spans over three decades and also includes time spent as a community pharmacist; pharmacy manager and owner; and director of pharmacy at Shoppers Drug Mart.

In addition to serving on the BCPhA board of directors, Foreman was also the association’s deputy CEO and director of professional services from 2001 to 2005.

Foreman continues to mentor younger pharmacists and support pharmacists’ evolving role in primary health care. He was also the  recipient of the 2010 Murray Dykeman Mentorship Award.

Foreman’s lifetime achievement award was presented at the BCPhA Annual Conference in Whistler on May 23.

The BCPhA is a not-for-profit, voluntary, professional association of pharmacists and pharmacies. It represents more than 2,800 pharmacists and more than 800 pharmacies throughout B.C.