Character Abbotsford announces new board of directors

Organization also names newly formed leadership team

Vijay Manuel

Vijay Manuel

Character Abbotsford has announced its board of directors for the 2016/2017 year.

In addition, a newly formed leadership team has been approved by the board.

Character Abbotsford has gone through a few strategic planning sessions leading to a refined focus, said newly appointed chair Vijay Manuel.

“It takes all of us working together in order to develop a great community built on the foundation of character; a community where all feel welcome, safe, and carry with them a sense of ownership and belonging,” he said.

“We have an incredible group of leaders on the Character Council and we’ll work with them to encourage respect, responsibility, integrity, empathy, courage and service within our spheres of influence.”

In addition to Manuel, the board of directors is made up of: vice chair Shairose Jinnah; past chair Bev Olfert; secretary treasurer Fran Vanderpol; directors Sir James Barlow, Carla Danielsson, Joanne Field and Jake Rudolph; and leadership team members Manuel, Rudolph, Rob Comeau, Jody Gordon and Jory Smallenberg

For more information, visit