Abbotsford Restorative Justice holds AGM

Board of directors was elected and awards were presented.

Abbotsford Restorative Justice and Advocacy Association‘s (ARJAA) annual general meeting, held last Wednesday in Abbotsford, welcomed guest speaker Dave Gustafson, a leading Canadian voice in the field of restorative justice.

The AGM was attended by about 70 community members, as well as MLA Darryl Plecas, Mayor Bruce Banman, city councillors Patricia Ross and Henry Braun, school board trustee Stan Petersen and Police Chief Bob Rich.

Abbotsford Police Const. Lydia Combow, Const. Jasmine Bader. Const. John Wilcox and Sgt. Casey Vinet were awarded with ARJAA’s Restoring Justice and Peace Award for modelling and advocating for restorative justice principles.

Receiving the organization’s new Restorative and Peaceful Schools’ Award for educators were principals Ian leavings of Abbotsford Middle School, Ryan Colbert of Colleen and Gordie Howe Middle School, Dexter Horton of Clayburn Middle, Reg Gabriel of Eugene Reimer Middle School, and Gerry Goertzen of Abbotsford Christian School.

ARJAA’s 2014/2015 board of directors were elected: chair Gerri Charles; vice-chair Christine Bomhof; treasurer John Pankratz; Bea Foulis, Abbotsford Police Victim Services representative; Insp. Dave Schmirler of the Abbotsford Police Department; Stan Petersen, school board trustee; Annette Vogt, UFV Centre for Safe Schools and Communities; Dave Hilderman; Charlene Ridder; Raymonde Tickner;  and Andrew Delmonico.

Also at the AGM, Abbotsford branch manager Lyle McClelland presented a $21,697 grant from Envision Financial First West Foundation in support of ARJAA’s ongoing research and bullying prevention work in local middle schools.

Just Posted

Langley’s Coral Hamade and Alberta’s Ella Gifford have signed with the UFV Cascades women’s golf program. (Submitted)
Langley’s Coral Hamade, Alberta’s Ella Gifford sign with UFV Cascades golf

First-ever Cascades Scholarship Golf Tournament set for Thursday at Chilliwack Golf Club

Mackenzie Byers of Abbotsford is the valedictorian for the School of Nursing at Thompson Rivers University in Kamloops.
Abbotsford woman is valedictorian of TRU school of nursing

Mackenzie Byers is graduating from Thompson Rivers University in Kamloops

Harrison Hot Springs country singer Todd Richard poses for a photo with Mission firefighters. (Photo/Sarah Plawutski)
VIDEO: Harrison country artist Todd Richard plans for a busy, rockin’ summer

Richard and his band look to live shows as restrictions start to lift

Special weather statement issued for Fraser Valley as first summer heat arrives June 20, 2021, and set to persist all week. (Photo by James Day on Unsplash)
Second day of hot temperatures rippling across Fraser Valley

Communities from Abbotsford to Hope will see daytime high maximum temps of 32 degrees

FILE – Perry Bellegarde, National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations, takes part in an event on Parliament Hill in Ottawa on Tuesday, July 7, 2020. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Sean Kilpatrick
Indigenous Peoples Day must be a ‘call to action’, says Assembly of First Nations chief

Discovery of children at Kamloops residential school site must lead to change, Perry Bellegarde says

Marco Mendicino, Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship during a press conference in Ottawa on Thursday, May 13, 2021. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Sean Kilpatrick
Canada to welcome 45,000 refugees this year, says immigration minister

Canada plans to increase persons admitted from 23,500 to 45,000 and expedite permanent residency applications

The Sacred Hearts church on PIB land burned Monday morning. (Theresa May Jack/Facebook)
Two churches on First Nation land in South Okanagan burn to the ground

Sacred Hearts church on Penticton Indian Band land was reduced to rubble

Tl’etinqox-lead ceremony at the site of the former St. Joseph’s Mission in Williams Lake, B.C., June 18, 2021. (Angie Mindus photo - Williams Lake Tribune)
‘We are all one people’: Honouring residential school victims and survivors

Love, support and curiousity: Canadians urged to learn about residential schools and their impact

Indigenous rights and climate activists gathered outside Liberty Mutual’s office in Vancouver to pressure the insurance giant to stop covering Trans Mountain. (Photo by Andrew Larigakis)
Activists work to ensure Trans Mountain won’t get insurance

Global campaign urging insurance providers to stay away from Canadian pipeline project

In the first election with public money replacing corporate or union donations, B.C. Liberal leader Andrew Wilkinson, B.C. Greens leader Sonia Furstenau and B.C. NDP leader John Horgan take part in election debate at the University of B.C., Oct. 13, 2020. (THE CANADIAN PRESS)
B.C. MLAs ponder 2022 ‘sunset’ of subsidy for political parties

NDP, B.C. Fed call for increase, B.C. Liberals have no comment

Emergency crews shut down White Rock’s Five Corners district on Feb. 19, 2020 following an assault. (File photo)
Trial underway in February 2020 death of White Rock senior

Ross Banner charged with manslaughter following Five Corners altercation

Investigators use a bucket to help recover human remains at a home burned in the Camp fire, Thursday, Nov. 15, 2018, in Magalia, Calif. Many of the missing in the deadly Northern California wildfire are elderly residents in Magalia, a forested town of about 11,000 north of the destroyed town of Paradise. (AP Photo/John Locher)
‘Forever War’ with fire has California battling forests instead

Five of the state’s largest-ever blazes seared California last year, as authorities tackle prevention

Cannabis bought in British Columbia (Ashley Wadhwani/Black Press Media)
Is it time to start thinking about greener ways to package cannabis?

Packaging suppliers are still figuring eco-friendly and affordable packaging options that fit the mandates of Cannabis Regulations

Most Read