Prospera holds AGM, selects new board chair

Rowland Kelly brings over 40 years of credit union knowledge and expertise

Prospera Credit Union held its annual general meeting on May 13 at the Matsqui Centennial Auditorium in Abbotsford, B.C.

In addition to reporting on financial results for 2014, the credit union welcomed one new director along with two re-elected directors and announced a new board chair. Angela Kaiser and Stacey Crawford are the returning directors and each has been elected for a further three-year term.

They are joined by new board member Rowland Kelly, who brings over 40 years of credit union knowledge and expertise. The board also thanked Kaiser for her five years as board chair and welcomed Crawford as the new chair.

In 2014, both deposit and loan growth were strong as was wealth portfolio growth—both from sales and market appreciation—which allowed the credit union to realize net asset growth of $100 million for the year and increase revenues by $2.7 million over the previous year.

The condensed version of Prospera Credit Union’s annual report is available online in a pdf format on, while a longer version is available as an app for the iPhone and iPad from iTunes.

The Ron Sweeney Community Champion Award, which recognizes a Prospera employee whose actions embody Ron Sweeney’s spirit of volunteerism was given to Sean Melia, manager of Prospera’s Mission Branch and volunteer with a variety of local organizations.