New Abbotsford chamber president

Mark Warkentin begins term as Abbotsford Chamber of Commerce president

Mark Warkentin

Mark Warkentin

Mark Warkentin, a partner with the law firm of Linley Welwood LLP, has taken over as president of the Abbotsford Chamber of Commerce. Warkentin begins a two-year term, succeeding out-going President Josh Bach.

Sara Lawson, of Dignity Memorial Funeral Homes, was installed as vice-president and Ranjit Malay, a senior manager with KPMG Enterprise, was appointed as treasurer, both for a two-year term.

Melinda Friesen of Clearbrook Grain & Milling and Stu McIntosh of Cascade Aerospace were re-elected as directors for the 2017-2019 term together with new directors Chris Gauthier of Memento Mori Studios, Kathrin Matadeen of TD Bank, and Kal Sidhu of First Page Marketing.

They join the five existing directors of the Chamber: Jason Dykstra of Mt. Lehman Cheese Co.; Dave Miller of Fix Auto; Kelly Railton, an individual member; Craig Toews of UFV; and Kristen van Vloten of Salvo Communications.

In his inaugural remarks Warkentin touched on the three strategic objectives of the Abbotsford Chamber: advocate, benefit and connect. He referred to the work coming out of the member focus groups conducted last year and identified some new chamber initiatives such as the Not-for-Profit Committee. He also spoke of the need for the chamber to build stronger relationships with the new, younger generation of business entrepreneurs that are starting to have a strong positive influence on our city.