The duo Coalmont (Nate and Steph Esau) performed Saturday night during the 13th annual Arty Awards held at The Reach Gallery Museum. (John Morrow/Abbotsford News)

Arty Awards presented in nine categories

Annual event held Saturday at The Reach Gallery in Abbotsford

Excellence in the arts was recognized at the 13th annual Arty Awards gala on Saturday night at The Reach Gallery Museum.

The awards – presented by the Abbotsford Arts Council – honoured recipients in nine categories, including Lifetime Achievement, which was presented to sculptor Norm Williams.

Williams was an Arty Awards winner in 2004 in the visual arts category. His work has been featured in private collections throughout Canada, the U.S., Germany, the United Kingdom, China and Japan.

Some of his public works that can be seen closer to home include Strauss and Gallo Watching the Farm, and the Unity Statue (a collaboration) in Abbotsford, as well as the iconic statues of Roger Neilson and Pat Quinn that adorn the entrance to Rogers Arena in Vancouver.

Other recipients were:

– Visual Arts – Raphael Silver;

– Media Arts – Adam Wormald;

– Lifestyle Arts – Dianna Lewis;

– Youth Artist – Caylee Watrin;

– Literary Arts – Michelle Elrick;

– Emerging Artist – Meshaal Alzeer;

– Performing Arts – Sunee Dhaliwal; and

– Christine Caldwell Arts Advocate – Alexandra Blair.

The evening also featured performances by singer/songwriter Chelsea Amber, spoken word artist Jacob Harada, stand-up comic Cliff Prang, and local duo and Arts Advocate nominees Coalmont.

The event was hosted by this year’s Arty Awards coordinator, Harry Doupe.


Norm Williams received the Life Team Achievement Award at the 13th annual Arty Awards on Saturday evening. (John Morrow/Abbotsford News)