UFV Alumni association appoints new chair

UFV Alumni Association has change in leadership, appointing four new directors

The University of the Fraser Valley (UFV) alumni association board of directors has appointed two executives and four new directors.

Jason Barnes (BSc ’04), who had been elected chair of the association in November, accepted a job in Calgary that will prevent him from carrying out his leadership duties.

He will continue to serve as chair emeritus, a newly created (ex-officio) position to help ensure the history and perspective brought by those who have served the association in prior years will not be lost.

Justin P. Goodrich (BA ’12) who was formerly vice-chair, was appointed as chair.

Nik Venema (BBA ’12), formerly treasurer, was appointed as vice-chair.

Both men — in addition to already serving on the association’s executive — have previously served as elected members of the UFV Board of Governors.

The position of secretary continues to be filled by Len Goerke (BA ’98), while the position of treasurer will temporarily remain vacant until a suitable candidate is identified.

Also at the board of directors meetings, four new directors — Maxine Bouthot, Cecelia Dirksen, Derek Froese and Dan McArthur — were appointed, taking the board from 12 to 16 directors.

“While we are sad to see Jason go, we understand his reasons and we are excited for him,” said Goodrich.

Those wishing to get involved can contact alumni@ufv.ca for more information.